Home > 🎖️ Awards & Decorations: Medals, Hat Pins, Lapel Pins, Ribbons, Devices, Ribbon Bar Holders >

▪️Global War On Terrorism Service Medal

VIEW GWOT Service Medal

Alternative Views:

The Global War on Terrorism Service Medal (GWOT-SM) is a military award of the United States Armed Forces which was created through Executive Order 13289 on 12 March 2003, by President George W. Bush. The medal recognizes those military service members who have supported operations to counter terrorism in the War on Terror from 11 September 2001, to a date yet to be determined.

To receive the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, a military service member must have served on active duty during a designated anti-terrorism operation for a minimum 30 consecutive or 60 non-consecutive days. For those who were engaged in combat, killed, or wounded in the line of duty the time requirement is waived.

The initial authorized operation for the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal was the so-called "Airport Security Operation" which occurred between 27 September 2001 and 31 May 2002. Additional operations, for which the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal is authorized, include the active military campaigns of Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Noble Eagle, and Operation Iraqi Freedom. Future operations are at the discretion of United States component commanders upon approval from the United States Department of Defense.

In 2004, Defense Department and military service branches began publishing directives, messages, and orders, specifying that the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal would be awarded not only for direct participation in specific operations, but also to any personnel who performed support duty of an anti-terrorism operation but did not directly participate. The phrase "support" was further defined as any administrative, logistics, planning, operational, technical, or readiness activity, which provides support to an operation of the Global War on Terrorism. As a result of this blanket term, the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal became an eligible award for most personnel of the United States Armed Forces who performed service after 11 September 2001 through March 2004.

With the orders granting the GWOT-SM for "support duty", the medal has essentially become almost the same type of award as the National Defense Service Medal and graduates of training schools, ROTC, and service academies are typically presented both awards at the same time. The primary difference between the NDSM and the GWOT-SM is that the NDSM is automatic as soon as a person joins the military whereas the GWOTSM may only be presented after thirty days of active duty in a unit (or three months in the case of the Reserve Component). The regulations for Reservists and National Guardsmen are also not as well defined for the GWOT-SM as they are for the NDSM, since the presentation of the NDSM to reservists and National Guardsmen was codified and clarified as far back as the Persian Gulf War.

Choose version(s) you wish to order on the grid below.

Item# Item Name Price Quantity Add
HP520-14291-B4 ▪️Global War On Terrorism Service Medal - Hat Pin (1-1/8")
RB520-B1 ▪️Global War On Terrorism Service Medal - Ribbon
LP520-B3 ▪️Global War On Terrorism Service Medal - Lapel Pin (11/16")
FS520 ▪️Global War On Terrorism Service Medal - Full-Size Medal - SPECIAL ORDER - ADVANCE PAYMENT REQUIRED - 2-4 WEEKS
Check the items you wish to purchase, then click

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »